Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fellow Technicians please here me out...

Fellow Technicians please here me out...

Hey guys my name is Steve, I just joined these board in hopes of getting a message and some questions across.

First off I wanted to start by saying that I am a proud technician and have been so since A.P. also a huge fan of hip hop in general.

However there is something that I feel sets me apart from most Technicians. I am openly gay. I knew who I was from a very early age and also found my love for rap before I hit grade school. As you know hip-hop is not kind on the gay community at all. The word "faggot" graces many rhymes these days and my community is hated on day in and out in my favorite genre. It is my dream to release an album one day and as you can imagine my sexual orientation is holding me back.

For many years I stayed in the closet and hid who I was and when I found tech n9ne and what being a technician meant I decided it was time to stop lying and be true to myself and fuck what anybody has to say about it. Tech taught me that being different is o.. and as long as you preach love through your life nothing is wrong with being who you are. I still find however that I am not wholly accepted in the rap community, every time I go to a strange music concert I cover up my pride flag tattoo and don't mention anything about my sexuality. I lie if asked about the opposite sex and pretend to be something I am not. This makes because Strange is such a HUGE part of my life and I feel I can't even be who I am around my fellow technicians. I saw a video recently on a interview with Tech and he said that he accepts my people and "you can't help who you love" this made me so happy to know my idol would be proud to call me a fan no matter who I am, but as I look over these message boards and hear what people are saying at concerts it seems that my technician family is not as accepting.