Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I Feel Like Strange Music Is Letting Good Talent Go To Waste (Long Read)

I Feel Like Strange Music Is Letting Good Talent Go To Waste (Long Read)

I have been a fan of Tech N9ne for the past 5 years. He is my favorite rapper of all time, and I don't think that will ever change. He is also the most successful independent artist of all time, as most of you probably know. However, as successful as he is, I feel like he and Travis don't really know how to manage a label and utilize their artists in the best possible way.

Mac Miller proved this year how ineffective Strange Music is by releasing his debut album (independently) and selling more than Tech's 14th. That's sad. That needs to be a wake-up call. I recently stumbled across a Strange Music blog post that said, and I quote, "2011 was an outstanding year for the #1 independent hip hop label in the world". I laughed out loud when I read that. What about 2011 was outstanding for Strange Music? All 6's and 7's placed at #4 on the Billboard charts and did about 50,000 the first week, and that's great for Tech, but that's about it. The problem isn't really with Tech, its with the other members. Strange released 4 Non-Tech albums this year (Preserved, Follow Me Home, Coathanga Strangla, and Damn Fool) and 2 Non-Tech EPs (S.I.C. and Red-Headed Stepchild). Out of these 6 projects, I feel like none of them could be considered "successful" by any means and were mainly only heard/bought by diehard Tech N9ne/Strange Music fans (with the exception of maybe Follow Me Home).