DJ Frequency Produces Several Tracks On ‘Raw And Un-Kutt’ [Song]

Jun 10 2010

Kutt Calhoun’s latest release, Raw and Un-Kutt, includes several songs produced by Brian “DJ Frequency” Fryzel, including the songs, Only Knew”, “Kansas City Shuffle, “Hey Hey Hey” and “She Wants Me”. DJ Frequency was the DJ for Slaughterhouse during the K.O.D. Tour 2009, in which Kutt Calhoun was one of the headlining acts during that tour.

Here is some more info on DJ Frequency taken from his Wiki:

Born in Rockville Centre in 1983, Frequency spent his early years living the average suburban life. Frequency met 6th Sense, an MC from Pelham, New York, and the two of them formed a group, The Understudies, with 6th Sense’s friend and mentor Mr. Tibbs.

The Understudies performed in and out of New York alongside various groups including The Roots, John Legend, Rahzel, MF Doom, High and Mighty, Sage Francis, Cage, Ugly Duckling, Jean Grae and Cannibal Ox. The group signed a record deal on Freshchest/High Time Records, where they released the 12″ single, “Now & Then” b/w “Bananas” in the summer of 2004. Although the record sold over 1,000 copies through Caroline Distribution and was met with critical praise, the group broke up, and their full-length album, produced solely by Frequency, was shelved.

New York underground mainstay Wordsworth met Frequency out while he was recording his solo debut LP, Mirror Music. Frequency produced 3 tracks on Mirror Music: “Shoulder,” “One Day” and “Don’t Go.” Frequency went on to work with several other artists he had met in New York’s independent scene: from Oktober (“NYC” on Projekt: Building) to Tonedef (“Give A Damn Remix” on Archetype) to El Da Sensei (“Natural Feel Good” on The Unusual).

In 2006 Frequency won Scion’s New York leg of the King of the Beats competition, and produced a number of records for major label artists such as “Plenty of Love” by Raekwon, Gravy and Tikky Diamonds and “Ya’ll Can’t Live His Life” by Cam’ron. Frequency also collaborated with Hip-Hop icon Snoop Dogg on “Think About It,” which was the first song on Snoop’s last LP Tha Blue Carpet Treatment. Snoop himself repeatedly has referred to the song in interviews as his favorite track on the album.

The following year, Frequency produced tracks for Ghostface Killah, Red Café, Lil’ Mama, eMC (Masta Ace, Punch, Words and Strick), A. Pinks, and the New York radio anthem for Juganot, “En Why Cee” (featuring Joell Ortiz and Uncle Murda). Also in 2007, Frequency reunited with 6th Sense to produce the bulk of 6th’s Rawkus debut LP It’s Coming Soon.

Soon thereafter, Frequency began working heavily with the Trackmasters, with whom he produced several tracks for the upcoming Lil’ Kim LP, as well as tracks for Game, Keyshia Cole, Beenie Man, Slim (from 112) and others. He also continued to place records on his own, producing songs such as “One Chance (Make It Good)” for Snoop Dogg’s 2008 release Ego Trippin, “Like Me” for Ja Rule, “I’m All That” for Ras Kass, and “Onslaught” and “Fight Klub” for lyrical supergroup Slaughterhouse.

Trackstar the DJ and Frequency released “Welcome to the Freq Show: The Best of Frequency” in the summer of 2009.

As of October 2009, Frequency is in the process of developing Adair, a Pop music singer/songwriter signed to his production company, Freq Show Music, Inc. Frequency also DJs and served as eMC’s tour DJ in Europe in the summer of 2008. In 2009, he DJed for Slaughterhouse at the Paid Dues Festival and on the Rock the Bells tour. During the tour, he appeared on the videos posted on, as well as Joe Budden’s BlogTV channel. Frequency DJed for Slaughterhouse as part of the K.O.D. Tour with Tech Nine in October 2009 and as part of their European tour in January and February 2010. Frequency is one of the house DJs at the Whiskey Bar in Times Square. He is currently on the road DJing for Slaughterhouse and Pharoahe Monch in Canada.

On December 15, 2009, Frequency and Joell Ortiz released “Road Kill,” a mixtape featuring freestyles that Joell recorded during the K.O.D. Tour and four original tracks, three of which — “Ortiz In This Bitch”, “Snake Charmer”, and “50 For the People” — were produced by Frequency.

Raw and Un-Kutt, the newest release from Kutt Calhoun features the singles “Naked (Boom Boom Room)” and “Get Kutt”. Kutt’s third release with Strange Music also features Tech N9ne, Brotha Lynch Hung, Joe Budden, E-40, Too Short and more. Raw and Un-Kutt is now available on iTunes or you can order your copy today!